gobs of gobbs

It’s been a bit of a slog getting through the last of my rules illustrations for that goblin boardgame of mine, but now they’re finished and I have a shiny manual full of awful placeholder art! Shaky hand-drawn arrows! Public domain clipart! Low res!

I’m actually pretty excited about this. It is, at this point, a more or less finished game! The system is pretty tight, there’s some good variety both in player strategy as well as initial configuration, and a fairly feedback-heavy set of mechanics. The next step is to sit in on a blind playtest, a step I am fortunate enough to have volunteers to help me with. Will they, the newly initiated yet terribly clever, find obliviating rules loopholes and shake my game to the core? More importantly, will they enjoy themselves?

I haven’t done much yet in the way of investigating publishers and the whole process of transforming these, my ideas, into something real and tangible and pretty, but it’s got me a little excited, too. Anbrewk was speculating about the world of rights and royalties and it came into sharp relief how little I know about those things. But it’s a path others have walked before, and one that some of the particularly generous have documented for my benefit. It sure would be neat to have a publisher pick up all those aspects that I’m not so familiar/confident with. That’s really the dream life, no? Design and design alone…

One step at a time, berv…

Leave a comment